Choreographic Fellowship

KU Dance has a rich history of inviting guest artists who enhance the professional preparation of students. Members of the University Dance Company have performed choreography by José Limón, Twyla Tharp, Mary Anthony, Karole Armitage, Bill Evans, Wally Cardona, Patrick Corbin, Carl Corry, Claire Porter, Michael Simms, and William Whitener, among many others.

The choreographic fellowship is an opportunity for dance makers to "share and further develop his or her work" while also giving dance students the "experience to see what it is like to be involved in an intensive rehearsal process with a professional choreographer" says Michelle Heffner Hayes, professor and chair of Theatre & Dance.

During their residency, choreographers who are selected through this program teach master classes, set works upon members of the University Dance Company, and help foster connections between dance students and professionals in the dance community.

The next choreographic fellowship competition will take place in the Fall of 2018.

The department will begin accepting submissions starting April 1st, 2018. Submissions for the Fall 2018 choreographic competition are due September 15th, 2018.

Choreographers may upload their submissions via acceptd.

Upcoming Events
Connect with KU Theatre & Dance