• Home
  • Jack B. Wright Student Award

Jack B. Wright Student Award

The Department created the Jack B. Wright Award in 2011 to honor Emeritus Professor Jack Wright. Jack was a professor of theatre from 1976 to 2010. He held the title of Artistic Director of Theatre from 1976 to 1994 and served as Director of the University Theatre from 1989 to 1994.

Professor Wright had a highly distinguished and prolific academic career and his reputation as a teacher was unsurpassed. Facilitating student learning and success formed the core of Jack’s teaching philosophy. He was deeply beloved and respected by his students, alumni, and his colleagues, not only because of his superb artistic and academic credentials, but also because of his selfless service to the student body, the university, and the community.

The Jack B. Wright Award honors an undergraduate or a graduate student graduating with a degree in theatre who has made significant contributions to the University Theatre production program. Candidates must show evidence of selfless devotion to the service of others and a passion for excellence in acting and/or directing. Preference will be given to a student who exemplifies the belief in the power of theatre to change lives. Eligible students must apply by March 15 for award consideration. The award is presented by vote of the faculty of the Department.

Past Recipients 
Year     Recipients
2021 Tehreem Chaudhry
2020 Dominique Waller
2019 Ayzia Underwood
2018 Victoria Kilkenny
2017 Alejandra Villasante
2016 Diadra Smith
2015 Abby Hadel
2014 Sara Kennedy, Tim Wilkinson
2013 Charlie Stock
2012 Boone J. Hopkins, Chandra Owenby Hopkins
2011 Marilyn Haines

Award Criteria (PDF)

Upcoming Events
Connect with KU Theatre & Dance