• Home
  • Richard Kelton Memorial Scholarship

Richard Kelton Memorial Scholarship

The Richard Kelton Memorial Scholarship was created by the Department of Theatre to honor Richard’s memory. Richard attended KU in the 1960s and received a Bachelor’s and a Master’s Degree in Education with a concentration in theatre. Richard moved to Hollywood after teaching high school for a year to pursue an acting career. In addition to roles in such television programs as Gunsmoke, Mission Impossible, The Waltons, and Quark, Richard appeared in a 1976 Broadway revival of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf. For his performance, he received a New York Critics’ “Newcomer” Award. Richard died on the set of Centennial in 1979.

The Richard Kelton Memorial Scholarship Fund is used to provide scholarships for undergraduate students majoring in theatre with an emphasis in acting. Preference is given to a student who shows evidence of having the aptitude for becoming a professional actor. 

Contributions to the Richard Kelton Memorial Scholarship fund may be made via KUEA.

Past Recipients 
Year Recipients
2019 Elsa Bernauer
2018 Brandon Hedger
2017 Matthew O'Brien, Taylor McTague
2015 Michael Wysong
2014 Aden Lindholm
2013 Eric Palmquist
2012 Taylor Geiman
2011 Lindsey Roesti
2010 Jacob Smith
2009 Christopher McGillivray
2008 Matthew Crooks
2007 Jonathan Matteson
2006 Candice Bondank
2005 Lawrence Henderson
2004 Elisabeth Ahrens
2003 Christopher Wheatley
2002 Aaron Champion
2001 Maureen Perry
2000 Gina Grad
1999 Matt Chapman
1998 Kate Turnbull
1997 Kari Wahlgren
1996 Matthew Hostetler
1995 Kasi Anne Brown
1994 James Wallert
1993 Sean Kaplan
1992 Terri McGilbra
1991 John Abramson
1990 Christopher P. Hayes
1989 Brenda Yungeberg
1988 Lynnae Lehfeldt
1987 Sara Lahey
1986 Phill Schroeder
1985 John Anderson
1984 Tracy Iwersen
1983 Todd Stites
1982 Venetia Reece
1981 LeWan Alexander
1980 Doug Weaver

Upcoming Events
Connect with KU Theatre & Dance