• Home
  • Sally Six Hersh Memorial Scholarship

Sally Six Hersh Memorial Scholarship

The Sally Six Hersh Memorial Scholarship was established in 2001 to honor Sally Six Hersh (1933-2001). Mrs. Hersh received a B.A. and an M.A. in speech and drama at KU and in 1954 was instrumental in developing the curriculum in children's theatre and creative dramatics and established the children's theatre for KU.

Mrs. Hersh taught speech and drama at West Junior High School for two decades and staged dozens of plays, ranging from Bye Bye Birdie to Annie. She won 20 drama and teaching awards, including the Kansas Governor's Scholar Teacher, Most Influential in Education of Students, twice. West Junior High School dedicated its theater in her honor and name. She retired in 1993.

The scholarship is used to provide scholarships for deserving undergraduate or graduate students with a special interest in Children’s Theatre. The scholarship is based on need and achievement, with the understanding that the recipient will maintain a 3.5 GPA for coursework with the Department.

Past Recipients 
Year Recipients
2019 Kalen Stockton
2018 Hollyanna Mathews
2017 Martha Keslar
2016 Martha Keslar
2015 Adrienne Fleming, Emily Schwerdtfeger
2014 Krista Jarboe
2012 Sara Kennedy
2011 Scott Cox
2010 Scott Cox
2008 Tammy Keiser
2007 Aubree Bowen
2006 Megan Persinger
2005 Megan Persinger
2004 Erika Crane
2003 Aaron Dyszelski
2002 Ashley Martin

Upcoming Events
Connect with KU Theatre & Dance