Andrew and Lilly Tsubaki Award

Dr. Andrew T. Tsubaki and his wife, Lilly, created the Andrew and Lilly Tsubaki Award in 2000. Dr. Tsubaki (1939 – 2009) held faculty appointments at the University of Kansas in theatre, film, and East Asian languages and cultures from 1968 to 2000.

Dr. Tsubaki was director of the International Theatre Studies Center from 1971 to 2000 and director of International Classical Theatre. He was chair of the Department of East Asian Languages & Cultures from 1983 to 1990. He became professor emeritus in 2000. He was named an honorary citizen of Katohi, Greece, for his work in establishing a semiannual KU summer study abroad program in theatre.

The Andrew and Lilly Tsubaki Award is designed to be a supplement for a theatre student who plans to participate in a study abroad program devoted to theatre. The student must be admitted to a study abroad program by the time the process of award selection begins in April of each year. However, if there is a Japanese student from Japan majoring in theatre and at least completing the first year on campus, the first preference will be given to a student with such qualifications, provided that he/she satisfies the following conditions: The student must maintain a 3.0 or better cumulative GPA and a 3.5 or better in theatre. If a student shows outstanding talent in acting or in scenography and maintains a 2.8 cumulative average and a 3.3 GPA in theatre, they will also be considered.

Past Recipients

2019Nathan Bowman
2018Hollyanna Mathews
2017Kaia Minter
2015Emily Schwerdtfeger
2014Gabriel Alaniz
2012Timothy Wilkinson
2011Jenny Curatola
2010Jacob Smith
2009Hannah JoBeth Roark
2008Mackenzie Wiglesworth
2006Hilary Kelman
2004Toshimi Hironaka
2002Erika Crane