Ethel Hinds Burch Awards

The Ethel Hinds Burch Award fund was established in 1992 by Vance L. Burch. The fund is used to provide awards for deserving graduate students majoring in theatre in the department. The annual awards, which may be renewable, are given to outstanding graduate teaching assistants (GTAs) in recognition of both their teaching ability and their academic accomplishments at KU.

Ethel Margaret Hinds Burch was born in Missouri on January 22, 1906, and married Vance Lindill Burch on May 29, 1937, in Jackson County, Missouri. Ethel taught drama and theater at Pasadena Community College, Pasadena, California, for most of her working life. She died on March 1, 1976, in San Marcus, California, where she and Vance lived in retirement. Ethel had been a student at KU in the 1920s and had been active in the KU community having participated in the Dramatic Club, the History Club, and the Jay Janes, an early women's pep club at KU.

The Ethel Hinds Burch Awards are presented by nomination and vote of the faculty & staff of the department.

Past Recipients

2023Sara Baird, Tiffani Brooks Hagan
2022Marzieh Ashrafian
2021Webster McDonald
2020Timmia Hearn Feldman, John Dylon Rohr
2019Kaitlyn Tossie
2018Alysha Griffin
2017Lusie Cuskey, David Ruis Fisher
2016Blair Lawrence Yates
2015Leah Mazur
2014Pamela Rodriguez-Montero
2013Amanda Boyle
2012Julia Fleck, Scott C. Knowles
2011Elahe Marjovi
2010Lynn Deboeck
2009Seok-Hun Choi, Tammy Keiser
2008Boone Hopkins, Chandra Hopkins
2007Jocelyn L. Buckner, Madison Spencer
2006Katrina Darden Bondari
2005Kelly Vogel
2004Robbie Jones
2003Danon Park
2002Sara Armstrong, Aaron Dyszelski
2001Brian Clinnin
2000Sandi Bailey
1999Maggie Baldomir
1998Bill Nelson
1997Sharon Sullivan
1996Ann Hockenberry Hause, Stephen Hudson-Mairet
1995Louise Herman
1994Tamara Anderson
2023Renee Cyr, Lindsay Webster
2022Jonah Greene, Lindsay Webster
2021John Dylon Rohr, Caleb Stephens
2020David Ruis Fisher, Kaitlyn Tossie
2019Lusie Cuskey, Kate Smeltzer
2018Lusie Cuskey, Chelsea Pitts
2017Leah Mazur, Gina Sandi-Diaz
2016Gina Sandi-Diaz, Leah Mazur, Rachel Blackburn
2015Pamela Rodriguez-Montero, Rachel Blackburn
2014Jeanne Tiehen
2013Jeanne Tiehen, Julia Ubert
2012Danny Devlin
2011James Diemer, Seok-Hun Choi
2010Boone Hopkins, Tammy Keiser
2009James Diemer, Chandra O. Hopkins
2008Jocelyn L. Buckner, Madison Spencer
2007Katrina Bondari
2006Robbie Jones, Kelly Vogel
2005Robbie Jones, Joy Richmond
2004Aaron Dyszelski, Julie Noonan, Danon Park
2003Sara Armstrong, Beth Collins
2002Joy Richmond
2001Julie Noonan
2000Patrick Carriere
1999Bill Nelson
1998Sharon Sullivan
1997Rick Jones
1996Doug Weaver
1995Leslie Atkins
1994Brent Noel