• Home
  • Gerhard Zuther Memorial Award for Dramatic Scriptwriting

Gerhard Zuther Memorial Award for Dramatic Scriptwriting

Janet Riley, long-time theatre patron, former board member and past president of the Friends of the Theatre organization, and emeritus staff member at KU, established the Gerhard Zuther Memorial Award for Dramatic Scriptwriting in 1991 to honor her husband, Gerhard Zuther (1930 – 1987). 

Dr. Zuther was a Professor in the Department of English at the University of Kansas and served as the Chair of the Department from 1979-1984. He taught both Shakespeare and Modern Drama courses and loved to attend the theatre. He was collaborating on a production of Hamlet with the University Theatre at the time of his death. 

The Fund is used to provide an award to a graduate or an undergraduate in the Department who has an interest in and promise in playwriting. The candidates must submit a synopsis and writing excerpt and must apply by February 1 for award consideration. The award is presented by vote of the faculty of the Department. 

Past Recipients 
Year     Recipients
2021 Jenny Sledge Harris
2020 Alysha Griffin, Chris Pendry
2019 Hunter Hill, Jenny Sledge
2018 Christian Boudreaux
2017 Taylor McTague
2016 Chris Martin
2015 Danny Devlin
2014 Brian Laurence Buntin
2013 Thom Browne
2012 Scott Cox
2011 Danny Devlin
2010 Scott Cox
2009 Tosin Morohunfola
2008 Adam Burnett
2007 Michael Bales, Thomas Middleton
2006 Adam Burnett
2005 Brandon Ford, Brian Pearson
2004 Robert Sokol, Brian Woodman
2003 Nicole González, Paul Shoulberg
2002 Julie Pearson-Little Thunder
2001 David-Michael Allen
2000 Aneikit Bonnel
1999 Joel Franklin, Jared Hamilton
1998 Steve Willingham
1997 Karen Dillon, Don M. Schawang
1996 Nick Miller-Schlyer
1995 Don M. Schawang
1994 Jaimie Carswell
1993 Sandy Saltzstein
1992 Darrin Lile
1991 Jon M. Ciccolini

Award Criteria (PDF)

Upcoming Events
Connect with KU Theatre & Dance