Kilty Kane Award

Jim Dick & Edmund Ludlum
2024 Recipient Edmund Ludlum

The Kilty Kane Award is presented each year to a student leaving the program. The Kilty Kane is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to the University Theatre.

Jerome Kilty, an accomplished actor, writer and director in the American theatre, was the first guest artist to play a leading role in the newly built Murphy Hall in 1957. He played Falstaff in a production of Henry IV, Part 1, and this "kane" was brought from Scotland to be his personal prop for the production. When Mr. Kilty left, he asked that it be used to honor outstanding contributors to the production program.

The Kilty Kane bears the name of each recipient of the award and is used as a prop to open and close each Theatre & Dance season. A first-year student is selected out of the crowd at the annual Rally to tap the “kane” three times on the stage to open the season. At the end of the year, at the annual banquet, the recipient of the Kilty Kane closes the season in the same manner. 

The Kilty Kane Award is presented by nomination and vote of the faculty & staff.

Past Recipients

2024Edmund Ludlum
2023Diego Rivera-Rodriguez
2022Christopher Pendry, Katherine L. Pryor
2021Gabrielle Smith
2020Elsa Bernauer
2019Katie Sgroi
2018Robert Crone
2017Leah Mazur
2016Kevin Siess
2015Thomas Tong
2014Julia Ubert
2013Hilary Surface
2012Boone J. Hopkins
2011Ben Sullivan
2010Amy Virginia Buchanan, Spencer Lott
2009Ann Sitzman
2008Brady Blevins
2007Stephen Ferrell, Justin Knudsen
2006Eric Avery
2005Christopher Wheatley
2004Beth Collins
2003Brian Clinnin
2002Tom Picasso
2001Alison Preston
2000Jennifer Jacob
1999Tony Fuemmeler, Silas Hoover
1998Stephen Hudson-Mairet
1997Laura Zabel
1996Erin Kessler, Alex Kipp
1995Amy Steinhaus, Ron Wilson
1994Staci Banks, Sandy Saltzstein
1993Michael Reese
1992Rita Beier, Bob Donlan
1991Marsha Paludan
1990Brenda Yungeberg
1989Dennis Christilles
1988Kevin Crawford
1987David Montee
1986Tracy Iwersen, Beth Reiff
1985David McGreevy
1984Keith Harris, James Larson
1983Jose "Pepe" Echegaray, Venetia Reece
1982Aurora Mendoza Perry
1981Jem Graves, Marcia Grund
1980Rhonda Blair, Ron Shull
1979Jeannie Wilkerson, Charles Lown
1978Jim Peterson
1977David Cook, Cliff Rakerd
1976Mary Jane Sisk, Preston Sisk, Jed Davis
1975Eric Anderson
1974Chris Johnson, Diane Kling
1973Peter Clough, William Evans
1972Earl Trussell
1971Rhonda Plymate
1970Steve and Kay Reed
1969Jack Wright
1968Dennis Dalen
1967Paul Hough, Lewin Goff
1966Sharon Scoville
1965Jim Hawes
1964Sidney Berger
1963Ken Baker
1962John Welz
1961Joyce Malicky
1960Louis Lyda
1959Marvin Carlson
1958Bill Kuhlke