Joseph R. Roach Dissertation Award

Janice M. Carlisle created the Joseph R. Roach Dissertation Award to honor her husband, Joseph Roach, on his birthday in 2007. 

Dr. Roach (c. '69), Sterling Professor of Theater, English, and African American Studies at Yale University, has chaired the Performing Arts Department at Washington University in St. Louis, the Department of Performance Studies at NYU, the Interdisciplinary Ph.D. in Theatre at Northwestern University, and the Theater Studies Program at Yale. Author of five books and many articles in the field of theater and performance studies, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012.

The Joseph Roach Dissertation Award is used to support a Ph.D. student in theatre during the research phase and/or writing of the dissertation. Candidates for the award are nominated by the faculty & staff of the department. Selection is made by the faculty & staff based on the academic credentials of the recipient as well as their overall contributions to the department.

Past Recipients

2023Webster McDonald
2022Timmia Hearn DeRoy
2021Kaitlyn Tossie
2020Alysha Griffin
2019Lusie Cuskey
2018Rachel Blackburn
2017Rana Esfandiary
2016Gina Sandí-Diaz
2015Amanda Boyle
2014Alison Christy
2013Scott Knowles
2012Danny Devlin
2011James Diemer
2010Seok-Hun Choi
2009Chandra O. Hopkins
2008Katrina Darden Bondari
2007Jocelyn L. Buckner