Award of Merit

Since 1979 the Department has awarded the Award of Merit for outstanding contributions to the Department and/or the University Theatre. Recipients are selected by the department and based on the impact the contribution has made to the program. Past recipients have included donors, alumni, staff, faculty, and patrons of the theatre.

Past Recipients

2019Jake Dutton
2011Paul Fellers
2009Marilyn Heath
2008David and Mary Kate Ambler
2007Janice Carlisle, Family and Friends of Sean Ryan
2006Shirley Rea (posthumously)
2005Kip Grosshans, Steve & Barbara Mills, Janet Riley
2004Mike Robe
2002Andrew & Lilly Tsubaki
2001Sally Frost Mason, Peter & Ann Thompson
1999James Still, United States Institute for Theatre Technology
1998Nancy Longhurst, Beth Reiff Niven
1997Kenyon & Camilla Whitright
1996Delbert M. Shankel, Jonell Williams (posthumously)
1995Mark Reaney
1994Rena Cook
1992Charles & Sharon Kimbell, Charley & Tensie Oldfather
1991LeWan Alexander, Gigi Gibson Bolt
1988Lawrence L. Feth, Mabel Rice
1987Celia Hooper
1986Donald Hunt
1985Buddy Rogers, Richard Schiefelbusch
1983Jack Wright
1982Darlene (Van Biber) Wight
1979Richard Kelton