• Home
  • Financial Aid
  • Theatre Undergraduates
  • First Year & Transfer Students

First Year & Transfer Students


  • The Department has several scholarships that are available to incoming undergraduate students in Theatre. 
    Scholarships available for First Year & Transfer Students
  • First-year and transfer undergraduate students should complete the Theatre Scholarship & Award Application through KU AcademicWorks. If you have not used the platform before, here is a helpful Guide to using AcademicWorks (PDF). You must have already been accepted to KU, set up a KU online ID, and declared a theatre major or minor in order to apply. By completing this application you will be considered for all Departmental scholarships for which you meet the eligibility requirements. All applications must be completed by February 26 for consideration.
  • The Jon T. Eicholtz and Barbara Eden Acting Scholarship, a 4-year renewable scholarship, is available for the Fall of 2021 to an incoming first-year student. The scholarship will provide one full-cost undergraduate scholarship (in-state tuition, fees, books, typical residence hall room and board) to a first-year student entering the University of Kansas who would otherwise not consider majoring in theatre performance. The scholarship will be awarded through a separate audition and application process. Visit our Acceptd page for more information and to apply by February 26, 2021.
  • Need-based scholarships: To be considered for a scholarship with a financial need component, students must complete the annual Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) so financial need can be determined. International students usually must complete KU's International Student Need Analysis Worksheet (ISNAW) instead of the FAFSA. Links, timelines, and additional information is available from the KU Office of Student Financial Aid.


All scholarships and awards are presented at the annual student recognition ceremony held at the end of the spring semester. Incoming students being awarded Department financial aid will be notified by mail or email after the ceremony.


Please contact Katherine Pryor, Director of Theatre.

Katherine Pryor Student Emergency Fundraiser

Upcoming Events
Connect with KU Theatre & Dance