Jack B. Wright Award

The department created the Jack B. Wright Award in 2011 to honor Emeritus Professor Jack Wright. Jack was a professor of theatre from 1976 to 2010. He held the title of Artistic Director of Theatre from 1976 to 1994 and served as Director of the University Theatre from 1989 to 1994.

Professor Wright had a highly distinguished and prolific academic career and his reputation as a teacher was unsurpassed. Facilitating student learning and success formed the core of Jack’s teaching philosophy. He was deeply beloved and respected by his students, alumni, and his colleagues, not only because of his superb artistic and academic credentials, but also because of his selfless service to the student body, the university, and the community.

The Jack B. Wright Award honors an undergraduate or a graduate student graduating with a degree in theatre who has made significant contributions to the University Theatre production program. Candidates must show evidence of selfless devotion to the service of others and a passion for excellence in acting and/or directing. Preference will be given to a student who exemplifies the belief in the power of theatre to change lives.

Eligible students must complete an Award Application by April 1 for consideration. The award is presented by vote of the faculty and staff of the department.

Past Recipients

2023India MacDonald
2022Jake Gillespie
2021Tehreem Chaudhry
2020Dominique Waller
2019Ayzia Underwood
2018Victoria Kilkenny
2017Alejandra Villasante
2016Diadra Smith
2015Abby Hadel
2014Sara Kennedy, Tim Wilkinson
2013Charlie Stock
2012Boone J. Hopkins, Chandra Owenby Hopkins
2011Marilyn Haines